Day Two of an Indian Wedding: Dance Party

When I woke up this morning, my orange henna had darkened to a beautiful, deep brown. 


Today was the day of the dance and the “bridesmaids” were already out in the courtyard practicing their routine. After I watched for awhile, they insisted that I join them. 

I have always admired Indian dance because it is so lively and energetic, yet mysterious and whimsical at the same time. As I learned, most of the moves are not as difficult as they seem. 

Before the party, all the ladies prepared in typical Indian style – sparkly make-up, sparkly clothes, sparkly shoes, and sparkly jewelry. 

According to one of the bridesmaids, “tonight [was] all about music and dance.” Her description was perfect; the evening really was just to celebrate the marriage through music and dance. 

In the open cement hall, the night started with a few traditional Indian songs. After that, the wedding party danced to some modern, Bollywood songs. 

The singer sat cross-legged on the stage.

Then, one of the girls told me to I was going to dance with them in the song that I had learned that morning. Instantly, my heart pounded and my hands shook. Dance to a song I barely knew in front of so many people? No way!

But as this internship has taught me, I know that confidently going outside of my comfort zone can lead to some of the best growth and memories of my life. 

So, I danced. And I messed up. But that was okay because I had so much more fun than if I had simply watched. Overall, we had a wonderful evening full of music in celebration of a beautiful couple. 

With about two weeks left in India, I have started to reflect on how I have changed and how my actions will be different after this trip is over. I have tiptoed outside of my comfort zone so many times, gaining more confidence each time.  Even when I messed up, I have learned that stepping beyond what I am accustomed to is incredibly rewarding. 

What have you learned outside of your comfort zone? Share it in the comments below!


Leave a comment