An Indian Wedding: Day One

Right now, I’m about five hours away from the seed company in a huge city to celebrate my host family’s niece’s wedding. 

This wedding will last for a full three days and will be full of family, food, and henna. Today is only the first day and I have already had so many amazing experiences!

When we arrived, the aunts decided that I was not “fancy enough.” So out came the shiny boxes full of earrings, bracelets, and necklaces of every size and color. They selected a rose-pink, pearl necklace and a glittering silver watch to dress up my look. Then, they pulled out a yellow kurta with matching pants. Once I put everything on, the aunts were satisfied and we were ready for lunch. 

The Rose Pearl Necklace
I have a baby wrist so the watch didn’t fit but it was beautiful.
With the bride-to-be, all of the aunts, a few of the uncles, and all of the cousins loaded in vehicles, we headed to a family restaurant. 

Unlike a typical restaurant, the majority of this restaurant sprawled in an open courtyard sheltered by dark green canvases. Several buffet tables stood on one side, filled with dishes of every spicy food imaginable. Winding around the entire area, a cement barrier separated the courtyard from the leafy jungle that surrounded it. 

Unfortunely, living with my chronic autoimmune disease means that I need to avoid spicy food (along with a ton of other foods). When I attempt to explain this to Indians, they often react in the same way, “What is Indian food without the spices?!”

Out of the entire buffet, I was able to eat roti (tortillas) and custard. Fortunately for me, there were mountains of food waiting for us at the bride’s home. 

After finishing lunch, we piled into the cars and wove through the Indian traffic to the bride’s house. It was finally time for what I have been looking forward to my whole trip: henna. 

In India, henna is made from plants and used in celebrations. Artists draw intricate designs with this “plant ink” on all of the wedding party’s hands. In a few hours, the henna dries, cracks, and falls off the skin, but leaves behind a stain that can stay for 1-2 weeks. 

According to my hostess, henna gives off heat and helps cool the body. Because the wedding days are considered stressful, the bride’s arms and feet are covered in henna two days before the wedding. Her henna will be the most intricate and take the most time (3-7 hours).

Ever since I arrived in India, I have wanted a henna. This art form is so unique and exquisite, just like India, that I could not imagine visiting this country without getting a whimsical stain on my hands. 

When it was my turn, I could not contain my excitement! As I watched, this artist turned my palms into botanical gardens. I love the way it turned out. 

She drew this design in only a few minutes!

Waiting for the henna to dry
The henna cracking and falling off

While I was waiting for my henna to dry, I was ushered onto the patio by one of the aunts. A group of people had gathered around one man who I was introduced to as Tushar Gandhi. Yes, that Gandhi. 

Sitting in a green, plastic chair right in front of me was the great-grandson of Mahatma Gandhi, the Father of India. I couldn’t believe it! So for about 20 minutes, I got to talk with him about India, his great-grandfather, and even GMOs. 

Tushar Gandhi and I

Soon, he had to leave to catch his train, but I will never forget the afternoon that I met a member of Gandhi’s family. 

Back in the house, more and more people arrived. Everyone was enthusiastically greeted with, “You’re here! Welcome!” followed by a sincere, but awkward hug as the ladies could not touch anything or move their fingers for fear of their henna smudging. 

Soon, a second henna artist arrived, someone flipped on some Bollywood music, and the party really started. They tried to teach me some Indian dance moves, but I am as coordinated as a newborn fawn so I was never able to get the moves perfectly. But we had so much fun in our spontaneous dance party. 

Because I had not slept well the night before, I was exhausted by 9:00 P.M. so I went to bed long before the party was over. I heard that some people stayed up until 2:30 in the morning. 

Indian weddings are crazy wonderful and I’m so excited to share this experience with you all. 

What’s the most unique wedding you’ve ever attended? Tell me about it in the comments below!


One thought on “An Indian Wedding: Day One

Leave a comment